67 Comments
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

When I was in high school my mom introduced me to Jethro Tull. She used to blast aqualung in her forest green Saab convertible. I’ve started blasting it and dancing to it with my son. Also before my parents for divorced back then, we were at friends and all of our parents were dancing to Simon and Garfunkel’s Late in the Evening and that led me to them too. My Twitter: @jenjen1181

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Bright Size Life by Pat Metheny - I grew up with my dad playing all the later stuff and I hated it but never really appreciated jazz until I heard this album. Now I’m a fusion and jazz bass player.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

The songs"Uncle George" and "Biko's Kindred Lament" by Steel Pulse opened my mind to a world of reggae far beyond the hits of Bob Marley that were easily understood by a young man in his 20's in Central California...

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

High school, a musician friend (he played cello) introduced me to jazz.

The first thing I got into was Errol Garner, which I never listen to anymore. Perhaps he was my gateway drug. Soon after came Thelonious Monk, then Charlie Mingus, then the floodgates opened. I remember hearing Haitian Fight Song and it scared the bejesus out of me. Not sure why now. Later got very into Bill Evans. And even though I love Eddie Gomez's playing, I especially love Evan's earlier work when it was all new.

What stays with me today is mostly late the 50s and early 60s modal gang... especially Bill Evans, Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Bill Evans, Bill Evans, and Bill Evans. Among the later stuff, I like the Art Ensemble of Chicago.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Erroll Garner. He is who got me interesting in learning to play the piano. He died before I was able to see him perform in person.

Joe Zawinul & Allan Zavod got me interested in electric keyboards.

For the record, the As Falls Wichita… was my favorite Metheny/Mays LP.

Expand full comment

Take It Easy My Brother Charlie by Jorge Ben Jor. I can't understand a word, but I think that makes the song and genre even better. Looking forward to following this Substack. @ethanmarx1999

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

I had a strange intro to dance music, which has turned into a synthwave fascination. When I was in high school we traveled out of town to another city for a soccer game. While we were warming up someone decided to take over the speaker system and blast Russia Privajet with the Bass cranked to max. Now I think the song is pretty bad, but it always brings me back to that day.

Looking forward to following along.

@Jasonxsigmon

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

I was a prog fanatic in my high school and college days - the hard stuff - King Crimson, early Yes, Gentle Giant, Henry Cow, music I still respect and love. But I was always a quester and was searching religiously for more complex rhythms. It was the drumming of Bill Bruford and his amazing polyrhythmic abilities that opened my ears fully to jazz. The greatest drummer in the history of rock of course went full jazz with his various Earthworks groups. And I was grooving to Andrew Cyrille, Sunny Murray, Barry Altschul, Paul Motian, Roy Haynes, Tony Williams, et al. thanks to Bill.

@SteveHahn1

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Supertramp: Crime of the Century. Ken Scott engineering was eyeopening and addicting. Made long sessions in studios fascinating and enjoyable.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Johnny Cash - American Recordings Didn't realize how brilliant he was. Just subscribed @NYGUY13

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

The Yes Album

Expand full comment
Jun 21, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

I was 4 when The Beatles hit the United States and they dominated the soundscape. In those years, most radio stations weren't narrowly devoted to one type of music; it was normal for a DJ to play Hard Day's Night then follow it up with Fly Me to the Moon. It sounds strange now, but it worked well.

@Michael52109983 (formerly @UltimateTexan and proud ♠️ Moron)

Expand full comment

Good lord, what a loaded question! In high school, it was Jaco Pastorius and Weather Report that got me out of late 70's arena rock. In the late 80's, it was Robin Trower and Bridge of Sighs that got me away from the pop radio hair bands. Insert a 20-year gap where I gave up on music for reasons I don't yet understand and have difficulty articulating. Might be MTV, might be Napster and MP3-through-shite-earbud dog vomit. Five years ago, I started buying old school stereo bits and rolled back the clock. Today, I'm all over the place...Buena Vista Social Club, Billy Gibbons, Logic, old Eminem, Thievery Corporation, and yes...Jaco Pastorius.

Expand full comment

I was a sophomore in high school at a party. Someone snuck in Light My Fire in between what was probably 00s rap and alternative. I had never heard the Doors before and sat there through the whole song in wonder. I hadn’t really heard anything other than music on contemporary radio so hearing that song was truly like nothing I had heard before. I had to find out what other “weird” music was out there. As silly as it sounds, hearing that song really did change my trajectory in life. @tymathews

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Most recently for me if it's been Cory Wong, opening my eyes and ears to the world of funk. I listen to all kinds of stuff but most of it branches off from metal and rock, so his world has been totally different and so enjoyable for me. All of his music has such a positive and happy vibe. You also get some fantastic musicianship in every song, and the neat thing about Cory is that he's not afraid to take a back seat and let someone else shine.

Great example here with the song Lunchtime. Really fun performance on the bass by Sonny T.

https://youtu.be/EQm2aSyI-F8

Thanks for offering to follow back! @_FordR

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

My mother listened to '40s through early '60s when I was growing up so I started with that. Where I lived in CA we only had one "oldies" station, a top 40 station on FM, and then early MTV. After learning about AM stations I found SF thrash and hardcore punk from the early to mid '80s. Combine what my mother brought me up on and what I found myself and I listen to nearly all types of music. Looking at my music library you'd think I'm schizophrenic.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

I can remember listening with my friend to his older brother’s Led Zeppelin albums when I was a kid. Probably responsible for my being a metal head. Also I remember being introduced to Dominican Típico and merengue music. Music I still enjoy.

Expand full comment

Hearing The Chattanooga Choo Choo on my parents' greatest hits of Swing CD created a lifelong Glenn Miller Fan.

Also the Ulfuls song "Tsugihagi Boogie Woogie" in Beverly Hills Ninja served as a gateway drug into the wild world of Japanese rock, which is its own type of drug.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Europe 72 @MikeyFly10

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

I always hated jazz, Avishai Cohen and Phronesis were the gateway drug, I went down the rabbit hole and now I listen to tons of jazz, including free jazz. Do you like free jazz Dave? Check out Min Bul - Min Bul (1970), trioVD - Maze (2012), Dyani, Temiz, Feza – Music For Xaba (1973), Harriet Tubman, Mats Gustafsson, Colin Stetson (not all strictly free jazz).

Expand full comment

I remember being absolutely flabbergasted by the album Deloused in the Comatorium by the Mars Volta. I'd been playing music for years, listening mostly to blues, rock, and funk. I'd simply never heard anything like it. I still haven't found much to match it.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Software: Aqualung by Jethro Tull.

Hardware: Boulder amp/preamp/phono stage driving Verity Audio Parsifal Encore speakers.

Expand full comment
Jun 18, 2021Liked by David Reaboi

Nemo by Nightwish. I heard it for the first time about 5 years ago and I fell in love with Symphonic Metal.

Expand full comment

Prodigy's The Fat Of The Land opened me up to all sorts of electronic music, which previously I never considered seriously.

Expand full comment

When I heard Elvis, life changed. When I was 10 I would sneak down at night and listen to his Sun records. I wasn't supposed to touch the record player.

Expand full comment

For me it was the song “Lush Life”, an extremely complicated song to sing vocally. I first heard it when I was a teenager on Natalie Cole’s album. Fell in love with it because you could hear the emotion in the lyrics and melody. Years later, I heard Queen Latifah sing it on the soundtrack to “Living Out Loud” (which is a terrific soundtrack all around), and I thought Queen Latifah’s version was even better than Natalie’s.

Expand full comment

"Morning at the Carnival" and "Prelude in E Minor" in Gerry Mulligan's album "Night Lights" was the start of my genuine interest in jazz.

Expand full comment

Astral Weeks by Van Morrison. Long story short: I took a class in college called African American Rock History at John Abbott College in Montreal. The teacher, Trevor W. Payne (look him up), walked into class with the LP and said, “Today’s class is a listening session. I will be playing the greatest record ever recorded. Those who aren’t interested can leave.” Most students left immediately. Only 6-7 of us remained. He turned out the lights, put the record on and left the room. My life has never been the same since.

Expand full comment
deletedJun 21, 2021Liked by David Reaboi
Comment deleted
Expand full comment